Saturday, June 23, 2012

Kansas Chamber of Commerce PAC endorses three Wyandotte County Republicans


The Kansas Chamber of Commerce PAC has endorsed three Wyandotte County Republicans for this year's general election.

Kansas Sen. Chris Steineger (R) is the only incumbent in Wyandotte County to receive an endorsement from the Chamber PAC, which endorsed several conservative candidates this week.

Steineger will take on the winner of the Democratic primary  - either Pat Pettey or Mario Escobar - in the Kansas Senate District 6 race.

Meanwhile, the chamber endorsed Republican Joe Ward, who will challenge Kansas Sen. David Haley (D) in the District 4 race.

Shawn A. Shipp, the Republican candidate running against Democratic incumbent Kathy Wolfe Moore in the Kansas House 36th District race, also received an endorsement from the PAC.

As of this week, the Kansas Chamber has not made an endorsement in the Republican primary in Kansas Senate District 5 between Mark Gilstrap and Steve Fitzgerald.

Tony Bukaty and Tim Kelb, two other Republicans running in races in Wyandotte County, did not receive an endorsement from the Kansas Chamber PAC.

Traditionally, the Kansas Chamber of Commerce endorses what they consider conservative candidates. The Chamber chose not to endorse any candidate state-wide from the Democratic Party.