Friday, September 21, 2012

KCKCC, faculty agree to new three-year contract

Faculty members at Kansas City Kansas Community College will be under contract for the next three years.

The new contract which extends through the end of the 2014-15 academic year was signed by Jerry Pope, President of the Faculty Unit of KNEA (Kansas National Educators Assn.) at KCKCC, and Don Ash, Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

“Negotiations were intense but cordial, respectful and professional,” said Brian Bode, Vice-President of Student and Administrative Services.

“As lead negotiator for the faculty, I can say I was very pleased with the tone of the meetings,” said Darren Elliott, an associate professor in Humanities and Fine Arts. “The Administration worked hard to understand the issues the faculty was concerned with and worked hard to come to mutual agreements on issues.”

Joining Elliot on the negotiating team were Curtis Smith and Ernie May of Biological Sciences, Mike Finnegan from the Technical Education and Ollie Carroll from KNEA.

Among the terms agreed to were a one percent increase in salary in each of the three years; an adjustment of workloads for faculty; a change in the sick leave policy for 212 day faculty, Professional Development provision for faculty participation in additional training; and a change in on-campus hours for on-line instructors.

In addition, a Memorandum of Understanding was reached to research and determine the status of the Technical Education Center as a location versus an entity.

College attorney Deryl Wynn served as lead negotiator for KCKCC. He was joined by Dr. Ed Kremer, Dean of Math, Science and Technology; Dr. Shirley Wendel, Dean of Nursing; Leota Marks, Dean of Human Resources and Affirmative Action; and Bode.


PHOTO: There were smiles all around as Jerry Pope (left), President of the Faculty Unit of Kansas National Educators Assn. at KCKCC, and Don Ash, Chairman of the Board of Trustees signed a new three-year contract which will run through the 2014-15 academic year. (KCKCC Photo by Dr. Baz Abouelenein).