Monday, October 29, 2012

Sporting Kansas City to begin playoff run November 4

Sporting Kansas City will begin their Quest for the Cup, presented by Budweiser, with the first leg of the Eastern Conference Semifinals on the road at 2:30 p.m. CT on Sunday, Nov. 4.

The return leg will kick off at 8:00 p.m. CT on Wednesday, Nov. 7 at LIVESTRONG Sporting Park. A limited number of tickets are still available and can be purchased online at or at the LSP Box Offices.

The No. 1 seed in the East, Sporting KC will face either the No. 4 seed Chicago Fire or No. 5 seed Houston Dynamo in the Eastern Conference Semifinals pending the outcome of their Knockout Round match-up at 8:00 p.m. CT on Wednesday, Oct. 31 at Toyota Park.

Broadcast details for the Eastern Conference Semifinals will be announced at a later date. For all the latest, visit the Playoff Guide.

Sporting Kansas City supporters are encouraged to attend the Kansas City Cauldron's playoff rally on Tuesday, Oct. 30 at Crossroads KC at Grinders (417 E 18th St Kansas City, MO).

The rally will feature a special playoff preview edition of The Sporting KC Show on Sports Radio 810 WHB, hosted by Callum Williams and Jake Yadrich from 7-8 p.m. CT live on location.

The rally will officially kick off at 8 p.m. CT with Border Patrol co-host Nate Bukaty serving as the emcee for the special event.

Sporting Kansas City players will be in attendance and admission is free for all ages.

Doors open at 6 p.m. CT and there will be random prizes given away throughout the rally, including a grand prize drawing for 2013 Sporting Kansas City Season Tickets.

2012 MLS Cup Playoffs - Eastern Conference seeds

    Sporting Kansas City (63)
    D.C. United (58)
    New York Red Bulls (57)
    Chicago Fire (57)
    Houston Dynamo (53)

2012 MLS Cup Playoffs Format

The fourth and fifth place teams in each conference will play a single knockout game, the winner of which will advance to the Conference Semifinals and face the first place team in the conference.

The four Conference Semifinals will be decided by two-game aggregate series, with the lower seed hosting the first leg and the higher seed hosting the second leg.

If the aggregate score is tied after 180 minutes of play, two 15-minute extra time periods will be played in their entirety, followed by penalty kicks, if necessary.

The two Conference Championships will be decided by a two-game aggregate series, with the lower seed hosting the first leg and the higher seed hosting the second leg.

MLS Cup will be a single championship match hosted by the higher seed. The finalist with the most regular season points will host MLS Cup. If the two finalists have the same number of regular season points, the tiebreakers for playoff qualification will be applied to determine the host team.