Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Annual Reasons to Believe Celebration is Nov. 15

News Release

Twelve distinguished graduates of the Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools (KCKPS) will be celebrated for their career achievements and community involvement as they are inducted into the 10th Alumni Honor Roll of the Reasons to Believe program.

The induction ceremony and celebration will take place Thursday, November 15 on the first floor of the KCKPS Central Office and Training Center, 2010 N. 59th St.

The event begins at 7 p.m. and is open to the public.

Board of Education President Gloria Willis will emcee the event, and honorees will be introduced by the current principals of their alma maters. Superintendent Dr. Cynthia Lane will speak about the reasons to believe in today’s students.

Two students will receive 2012 Reasons to Believe Scholarships sponsored by McAnany, Van Cleave & Phillips. They are seniors: Alex Lor, of F.L. Schlagle High School; and Gabriela Garcia, of J.C. Harmon High School.

The Reasons to Believe Alumni Honor Roll annually showcases the high caliber of graduates that the district produces and brings a select group of them together with staff, students, community members, colleagues and key leaders for a night of honors.

Members of the 2012 Reasons to Believe Alumni Honor Roll are:
  • Chuck Allen, pastor/non-profit executive director, Washington High School Class of 1987
  • Nancy Browne, educator/athletic director, Wyandotte High School Class of 1970
  • Dr. Valerie Chow, anesthesiologist/philanthropist, F.L. Schlagle High School Class of 1974
  • Mary Ann Flunder, community advocate, Sumner High School Class of 1952
  • Robert Johnston, Army CECOM Reset, J.C. Harmon High School Class of 1984
  • Jarius Jones, teacher leader for KCKPS/KCKCC instructor, F.L. Schlagle Class of 1993
  • Paul Jones, Jr., Battalion Chief of the KCK Fire Department, Wyandotte High School Class of 1978
  • Chester Owens, Jr., Businessman/political and community leader, Sumner High School Class of 1949
  • Richard Rasdall, Jr., First VP and COO Federal Reserve Bank, Wyandotte High School Class of 1966
  • Meredith Roberts Schraeder, certified prevention specialist, community volunteer and advocate, Wyandotte High School Class of 1965
  • Jean Shepherd, retired district judge, Wyandotte High School Class of 1964
  • Mike Stone, graphic arts/printing specialist, Wyandotte High School Class of 1968
Reasons to Believe was established in 2002 to generate pride and celebrate the progress being made throughout the district.

As part of the program, nominations are sought for the Reasons to Believe Alumni Honor Roll, which spotlights successful alumni to encourage and inspire today’s students.

The nominations are reviewed by a panel of judges that includes members of the Board of Education, Reasons to Believe Steering Committee, students, business leaders, and a former Alumni Honor Roll recipient.

To review past honor roll classes or to learn more about the program, go to www.kckps.org/recognition/alumni.