Tuesday, March 11, 2014

PHOTO: All Wyandotte County Wrestling Team announced

KANSAS CITY, KAN. ----- Congratulations goes out to some outstanding wrestlers in Wyandotte County.

This year featured some outstanding wrestlers, including 5th place state finisher P.J. Cheney of Turner, 3rd place state finishers Emmanuel Browne of Sumner Academy and D.J. Ballard of Bonner Springs, and 1st place finishers Donte Boose and Josiah Seaton.

Josiah Seaton put a capstone on his senior year by finishing undefeated throughout the year at the 113 lb weight class, earning him wrestler of the year honors.

Both Josiah Seaton and Donte Boose represented the Kansas team for the 2014 Metro Classic.  The coach of the year was Frank Gonzalez of Sumner Academy.

Included below is the first team, second team, and honorable mentions at each weight class for the all Wyandotte County team selections as decided by the coaching staffs in the area.

1st Team:

106    1st    Emmanuel    Browne    10    Sumner      
113    1st    Josiah    Seaton    12    Bonner      
120    1st    D.J.    Ballard    11    Bonner      
126    1st    Donte    Boose    12    Sumner      
132    1st    Tyler    Freeman    12    Turner      
138    1st    William    Renne    11    Turner      
145    1st    Jacob    Smith    10    Turner      
152    1st    Bryan    Lanning    11    Bonner      
160    1st    Kossivi    Esse    12    Sumner      
170    1st    Travon    Nelson    10    Wyandotte      
182    1st    Sion    Midgyett    10    Sumner      
195    1st    Leonard    Green    10    Sumner      
220    1st    Johnathan    Carter    12    Bonner      
285    1st    Andrew    Ramirez    11    Bishop Ward   

2nd Team:

106    2nd    Tanner    Sutton    9    Turner      
120    2nd    Josh    Stramel    11    Washington      
126    2nd    P.J.     Cheney    12    Turner      
132    2nd    Zack    Zarzee    11    Piper      
138    2nd    William    Whitworth    12    Sumner      
145    2nd    Jesse    Saunders    12    Harmon      
152    2nd    Vincent    John    11    Turner      
160    2nd    Terrance    Blount    12    Schlagle      
170    2nd    John    Valdez    11    Turner      
182    2nd    Chris    Whalen    10    Turner      
195    2nd    Sean    Singleton    9    Bonner      
220    2nd    Dalton    Murray    12    Piper      
285    2nd    Arnez    Dowdy    10    Turner      
113    2nd     Nick    Arzolla    10    Piper   

Honorable Mention:

113    Honorable Mention    Mustafa    Abdi    12    Schlagle      
126    Honorable Mention    Collin    Waller    10    Bonner      
132    Honorable Mention    Kolbe    Seaton    10    Bonner      
145    Honorable Mention    Braxton    McClusky    11    Bishop Ward      
152    Honorable Mention    Gage    Peters    12    Harmon      
160    Honorable Mention    Mleh    Landford    11    Bishop Ward      
220    Honorable Mention    Quinten    Hildebrandt    12    Washington