Looking for a way to improve your driving skills? Do you want to learn how to drive? The Kansas City Kansas Community College campus in Leavenworth has the course for just that purpose.
The Driver’s Education course is designed for the beginning driver and consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of driving with the instructor and twelve hours of observation. During this state-approved course, students will master Kansas road laws and safe defensive driving techniques. The course is from 6 to 9 p.m. Monday and Wednesday, Aug. 18 to Sept. 17 at the Leavenworth Center, 225 Cherokee in Leavenworth, Kan. The course fee is $299.
Successful completion of the course requirements will result in a Certificate of Completion from the state. This certificate might lead to a Kansas Driver’s License. The instructor is certified by the state of Kansas as well as the National Safety Council.
The instructor will arrange the driving and observation time after the class begins and the entire 18 hours of driving and observation time will be outside the classroom instruction hours and could extend beyond the course completion date.
To be eligible to take this class, the student must be at least 15-years-old and obtain a state of Kansas Instructional Permit from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Parents of minors are encouraged to attend the first night of class. Enrollment is limited to 24 students.
To register, visit the KCKCC website at www.kckcc.edu and select “Continuing Education.” Then select the Summer 2014 schedule. The course is listed under Leavenworth Center/Community Education. Registration can also be completed by phone by calling 913-288-7660 or in person at the Leavenworth Center, 225 Cherokee in Leavenworth. For more information call 913-651-2111.
Students must visit the Leavenworth Center before the class begins to complete the necessary paperwork for the state as well as to present a copy of their instructional permit.