Friday, July 25, 2014

New voting location open for Wyandotte County residents

KANSAS CITY, KAN. ---- The Wyandotte County Election Office will be opening a new satellite location this weekend.

More information below:
Wyandotte County Elections Commissioner Bruce Newby is this week opening a new satellite location for advance voting at Kansas Speedway. 
The advance voting site is located at 110th Street and I-70 (Exit 410) just south of the Kansas Speedway. The new location makes voting available to registered voters on both Saturdays before Election Day and the entire week prior to Election Day.

“Because of the ease of access to this location, we also hope to serve many county voters who can combine a shopping trip to the Legends or attendance at a sports event with voting.  We also hope this new voting venue will help to increase overall voter turnout,” said Elections Commissioner Bruce Newby.

The Kansas Speedway is providing the space to the Unified Government at no cost. Newby hopes to add more satellite locations in the future.

“As we gain experience and success with this initiative, we hope to expand voting opportunities in other parts of our county if we can find suitable facilities and adequate funding,” Newby said. 
Meanwhile, voters also have three other ways cast their ballots. 
(1) vote in advance by mail.
(2) vote in advance at the Election Office.
(3) vote at their polling place on Election Day.

Here are some of the details:

Early voting at the satellite location at Kansas SpeedwayHours:  Saturday: 9am to 3pm
Monday through Friday: 10am to 7pm
Dates:  Begins Saturday, July 26, continues July 28 to August 2
Location: Kansas Speedway at I-70 & 110th Street (Exit 410)
This site will offer touchscreen voting only. No paper ballots.

Early voting at the Election Office (850 State Avenue)Hours:  Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm
Dates:  Already underway now until 12noon August 4

Early voting by mail:Applications available now online at
Ballots started being mailed July 16.
Voted ballots must be returned by August 5

Vote on Election Day, Tuesday, August 5:Vote at your designated polling place
Hours:  7am to 7pm

Your Vote – Your Way!  Choose the option which works best for you.