Thursday, December 11, 2014

KCKCC Endowment Association Awards More Than $170,000 in Scholarships

KANSAS CITY, KAN. ---- The Kansas City Kansas Community College Endowment Association has had a successful year, awarding more than $170,000 in scholarships.

In total, the Endowment Association awarded 127 scholarships for the fall 2014 semester, totaling $173,940. This is an increase of more than $21,000 from the 2013 fall semester. On average, each scholarship was worth $1,365.

“We would like to thank all our donors whose support of KCKCC and the Endowment Association allowed us to distribute the highest total amount for scholarships awarded in the last several years,” said Patrick McCartney, executive director of the KCKCC Endowment Association. “With the success of our events and increasing support from our donors we hope to continue helping more students each year.”

The Endowment Association awards scholarships to KCKCC students annually ranging from $250 to scholarships covering tuition, books and fees. These funds are awarded based on academic qualifications as well as other scholarship criteria.

Scholarships offered by the Endowment Association include, but are not limited to:

  • Frank and Doris Schlagle Scholarship – Up to $1,500 per semester and covers tuition, fees and required textbooks for six to 15 credit hours per semester. It is renewable as long as a student maintains at least a 3.25 grade point average and completes all courses taken. Preference is given to those who live in Wyandotte and Leavenworth. Applicants must be pursuing an associate degree or certificate from KCKCC.
  • Frank and Doris Schlagle Scholarship Tier 2 – The scholarship covers tuition and fees only for six to 15 credit hours per semester. It is renewable if a student maintains at least a 3.0 GPA and completes all courses taken.
  • Etta Blanche Smith Dahlgren Scholarship – up to $1,000 per semester and applicants must be an elementary education major.
  • Thomas and Teresa Sullivan Scholarship – up to $1,000 per semester and computer information systems or mathematics majors are eligible.
  • Wyandotte County Association of Retired School Personnel – up to $1,000 per semester. Second year education majors are eligible.
  • Rita M. Ahart Nursing Scholarship – $500 to $1,000 per semester. Applicants must be a seeking a degree in the KCKCC nursing program and be a Wyandotte County resident. Amount of award to be determined by the Ahart family.

Students applying for most scholarships, other than the Frank and Doris Schlagle Scholarship, must have at least a 3.0 GPA or meet GED test scores that have been established.

To apply, a one page essay detailing degree/career plans and a transcript must be submitted with completed scholarship application.

For more information or to apply, visit the KCKCC Endowment Association on the KCKCC main campus, 7250 State Ave. Information is also available by calling 913-288-7675 or sending an email to Dawanna Fangohr at

Copies of the application are available in the Endowment Association and Financial Aid office and can also be submitted through the KCKCC website at