Thursday, January 8, 2015

Serda elected to Kansas City Are Transportation Authority's Board of Commissioners

KANSAS CITY, KAN. ---- The Board of Commissioners of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) elected new officers for 2015.

  • Jackson County, Mo., Commissioner Robbie Makinen was re-elected Chairman at the December board meeting. Makinen is Economic Development Coordinator for Jackson County and Co-Chair of the area’s Regional Transit Coordinating Council.                                                              
  • Daniel Serda, representing Kansas City, Ks, will serve as Vice Chairman in 2015.                        
  • Jim Klobnak, representing the City of Kansas City, Mo., will serve as Secretary. 
  • Dennis Bixby, representing Leavenworth County, Ks., has been elected to serve as Treasurer.
One of the first major actions for the Board in 2015 is expected to be the hiring of a new CEO to lead the KCATA.

KCATA is governed by a 10-member Board of Commissioners, five from Missouri and five from Kansas. Commissioners are limited to two consecutive four-year terms. Responsibility for the management, control and operation of the Authority and its properties is vested in the Board.

The Board exercises its responsibility by adopting all general policies of the Authority, including the adoption of annual capital and operating budgets, the establishment of the goals of the Authority, and the selection of a CEO.

The Board may delegate certain duties and responsibilities to the CEO for the management and operation of the Authority.