Saturday, June 29, 2013

KCK's Smith, Schuler among winners at Lakeside Speedway


Kansas City, Kan. ---- Darron Fuqua wasted little time working his way to the front of the USRA A-Mod feature on his way to a second feature win of the season.

The Mayetta, Kan., driver and current point leader started ninth and needed only nine laps to take the lead from multi-time winner Tim Karrick.

The lead turned out to be the safest place to be, as numerous wrecks and spins happen behind him. Jason Bodenhamer and current USRA National Points leader, Terry Smith, inherited a second and third place finish with two laps to go when Karrick and Kirby Steins were involved in an eight car crash. Kerry Davis and Mark Hoover rounded out the top five.

Gary Donaldson took advantage of his outside row one starting position to take the quick lead and would never look back.

Donnie Brown was able to fight through the field to finish second ahead of current points leader, Marshall Jewett. Steve Dibben and Bill Ruisinger rounded out the top five.

The USRA B-Modified feature provided extra excitement from the get-go as Sam Schuler took the early lead in an attempt to win his first win on Lakeside’s dirt surface. The Kansas City, Kan., driver had to drive a consistent race as the field behind him was hot on his trail.

Former champion, Chad Clancey, and Mike Higley, who has more wins in the B-Mods than any other competitor, spent 13 of the 15 laps inching their way toward Schuler, but would not be able to get around him.

Clancey would finish second over Aaron Marrant. Defending Champion, Nick Newton, finished fourth. Schuler’s only other win came back on Sept 1, 1991 in the Charger class when Lakeside ran on asphalt.

The Factory Stock division again brought their A-Game tonight. Opening night winner, Joe Smith, Jr., took the early lead with current point leader, Nate Barnes, and defending champion Justin Seifert giving chase. Bobby Tavis and last week’s feature winner, Marshall Jewett, also made their presence known.

Smith, who led all but the 14th lap took home the trophy while Barnes and Seifert finished second and third, respectively. Tavis and Jewett rounded out the top five.

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and Factory Stocks.  Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps at 6:45 p.m., and the first race gets under way at 7:30 p.m.  Adult ticket prices are $12, kids 7-12 $6, and children 6 and younger admitted free. Senior citizens and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at
You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.