Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Laing fires 69 to repeat at Sunflower Hills Club Champion, Ansley and Shatto finish second


KANSAS CITY, KAN. ---- Richard Laing made it two in a row in the Sunflower Hills Club Championship Saturday, running away from the field with a sparkling 3-under par 69.

The win made him a three-time champion, his first club title coming way back in 1991 when he was a junior at Kansas State. Already co-holder of the Wyandotte County Open Tournament record (1992), Laing made a strong run at the Club Championship record with his 69.

“I remember Steve Groom shooting a 68 once and Jack Laurie and Jeff Sedorcek may have shot that low at one time,” said Sunflower Hills head professional Jeff Johnson.

A former Bonner Springs standout, Laing shares the WyCo Open 36-hole record of 144 with Stan Wiehe and Bob Chatterton, his former coach at Bonner Springs. All three will get a shot at bettering that record at the 37th annual WyCo Open Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 10-11. Entries for the 2013 tourney are now being accepted at Sunflower Hills (721-2727 or www.sunflowerhills.com).

Laing’s 69 was four shots better than Brad Ansley and Brian Shatto with Tim Skorija fourth at 75. Flight winners were Dave Hunt, Chris Sirridge, Dave Klein and Tim Allen.
2013 Sunflower Hills Club Championship

CHAMPIONSHIP FLIGHT – 1.  Richard Laing, 69; 2 (tie) Brad Ansley, Brian Shatto, 73; 4. Tim Skorija, 75.

A – 1. Dave Hunt, 76; 2. Glenn Rice, 79; 3. Rick Egnatic, 81; 4. Brad Burton, 82.

B – 1. Chris Sirridge, 80; 2. Ron Medley, 82; 3. Joe Boland, 83; 4. (tie) Jerry Lamb, Greg Loethen, 84.

C – 1. Dave Klein, 77; 2. Jay Sutura, 87; 3. Gene Reynolds, 88; 4. (tie) Jim Long, Doug Pratt, Doug Winkelbauer, 92.

D – Tim Allen, 89; 2. Jason Cornish, 90 ; 3. (tie) Ted McClellan, Bill Pratt, Jesse Smith, 92.
Proximity Prizes – Chris Sirridge, Closest to hole, No, 4; Dave Klein, longest putt, No. 9; Jason Givens, longest drive, No. 10.